Meet the Team Behind Fleet Week San Diego

Fleet Week San Diego is powered by individuals who care about bringing the community together to honor those who serve our country and protect our freedom. If you would like to learn how you can get involved please visit our Volunteer Center or contact us for more information.

2019 Officers

Gordon Rutherford
President | BAE Ship Repair / CAPT USN, Retired

Robert Nowakowski
Vice President | Qualcomm/ CAPT USN Reserve

Bryan Smylie
Treasurer l Account Manager/ MAJ USMC, Retired

Jeffrey Robin, Esquire
Secretary | Attorney

Board of Directors

San Diego Fleet Week Foundation’s Board of Directors is its governing body, made up of current and former military personnel as well as members from throughout the San Diego community.

Eric Carr
Cubic Global Defense

Dennis Dubard

Jesse Gipe
San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation

Bill Baugh
COL, USA Retired

Jack Ensch
CAPT, USN Retired

Dave Koontz
SeaWorld San Diego

Sharon Cloward
President, San Diego Port Tenants Association

Richard Allen
Navy Federal Credit Union

Harold Elkan
Partner, Business Associates International, LLC

Cory Christensen
Lockheed Martin

Advisory Board

Jim Bedinger
CDR USN, Retired

Bruce Browne
Advanced Plastics

Pete Hekman
VADM USN, Retired

Pete Hedley
Executive Director, SDMAC Foundation/ CAPT, USN Retired

Henry Johnson
Navy Federal Credit Union

Roger McTighe
CDR USN, Retired

Cathryn Spetter
Navy Federal Credit Union


Larry Blumberg
Executive Director

Maggie Young
Associate Executive Director